Welcome !
Reading CC has been promoting cycling in Berkshire since 1974. With over 200 members, the club is dedicated to giving cyclists the opportunity to race, ride and enjoy life on two wheels. We have something on offer for all sporting riders, with a series of evening time trials throughout the racing season, several social rides every week along with road racing, sportives, audax and cyclo-cross. We welcome new members to participate in all these activities. Please browse the site to learn more about us, and don't hesitate to contact a member of the committee for further information. Click here for how to join.

Happy New Year sticky icon

Happy New Year

Happy New Year all, and good luck with all your cycling plans for 2016. Start by (re)joining the club here: https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/club/profile?&club_id=3529 as standard memberships will lapse at the end of February.

Let's hope the weather improves soon & hope to see you on a club ride soon.

Club Event Calendar 2016 sticky icon

Here are the details of the club's major events for the year. Clubruns aren't shown, but happen every Sunday from the Old Town Hall, usually at 9am.


Club Award Winners 2015

Congratulations to all the 2015 award winners: James Churchard, Pete Ganderton, Jed Ellerby, Greg Woodford, Mark Burston, Hadyn Rhys James, Rod MacFadyen, Brian Bingham, Gary Barlow, Paul East, Sarah Lidington, Trevor Warwick, Pete Corfe, Paul Whitehorne, Dave Ivory, Adam Thompson - full details attached.

Bill Higson - History

Bill Higson - History

Bill Higson was a well-liked and enthusiastic member of Reading Wheelers Cycling Club, and was tragically killed in a road accident in 1965.

The son of Wheelers chairman Stan Higson (who led the club through to 1974 when it amalgamated to become Reading Cycling Club) Bill was a good all-rounder with success on both road and track including wins in the `Presidents 50` (1960 & `61)

He always enjoyed the club Cyclo–Cross, called a `scramble` in those days, and usually ended up in the pond at Burgfield Common, complete with bike, for a post-race `dip`!

Upper Thames 200km Audax 7th November 2015

Upper Thames 200km Audax Saturday 7th February.
Reports from our riders:
Brian Perry:

Autumn Reliability Trial 2015

A total of 29 riders participated in the RCC Autumn Reliability Ride spread across 4 groups. The effective 1 hour later start due to the clocks changing did not prevent a very cold start, especially for the first rider to turn up at 8.45 for what should have been a 10.00 start, but as the sun broke through the morning quickly warmed up, leaving many well overdressed. 25 riders opted for the 110km route, which took them south from Dinton through Mattingley, Old Basing, Alton and Worldham, before heading back through Kingsley, Bentley, Phoenix Green and Eversley.